Blogia
muchmorenglish

Eternal Flame: Grammar and Translation

Eternal Flame: Grammar and Translation

This song can help you revise some important concepts of grammar:

 

- Imperative form of verbs:   (Close your eyes, Give me your hand, Say my name...)

- ’Normal’ questions, using Do:   (Do you understand?, Do you feel the same?... ) *1

- Interrogative form of Be:   (Am I only dreaming?, Is this burning an eternal flame?... ) *2

 

*1 Artículo recomendado: Usos del verbo "do" , apartado b (Richie’s Grammar Corner)

*2 Artículo recomendado: Verbo "be". Preguntas y Respuestas (Richie’s Grammar Corner)

 

ETERNAL FLAME (BANGLES)

 

Close your eyes,

give me your hand, darling
Do you feel my heart beating?

Do you understand?
Do you feel the same?

Am I only dreaming?
Is this burning an eternal flame?

I believe

it’s meant to be, darling
I watch when you are sleeping,

you belong with me
Do you feel the same?

Am I only dreaming
Or is this burning an eternal flame?

Say my name,

sun shines through the rain
A whole life so lonely,

and then you come and ease the pain
I don’t want to lose this feeling

 

 

 

Well, as I promised, there goes a little help for the translation. You just have to compare the sentences in Spanish with the English version and then classify them. Good luck!

 

 

Di mi nombre, / Yo creo / Cierra los ojos, / ¿O es este ardor una llama eterna? / que esto tiene que funcionar, cariño / me perteneces / el sol brilla a través de la lluvia / ¿Sientes mi corazón latir? / ¿Estoy simplemente soñando? / Una vida entera tan sola / y entonces vienes y calmas el dolor / ¿Es este ardor una llama eterna? / ¿Sientes tú lo mismo? / Te miro cuando estás durmiendo, / dame la mano, cariño / ¿Estoy simplemente soñando? / ¿Sientes tú lo mismo? / No quiero perder este sentimiento / ¿Lo comprendes?

0 comentarios